July 11, 2017

About Us


Our Story

The Association of Agricultural Scientists of Indian Origin (AASIO) was formed during the 1980 ASA CSSA SSSA Annual Meetings held in Detroit, MI and was originally named the American Association of Asian Agricultural Scientists. Later, the name of the Association was changed to the Association of Agricultural Scientists of Indian Origin (AASIO). Today, the Association has matured into a dynamic body with membership from all continents where agriculture is practiced. Through its dedicated and diligent work, the Association has gained recognition by ASA-CSSA-SSSA and its annual meeting is included in the program of the Tri-Society annual meetings.

Our Vision

Promote scientific research and enhance the science of agriculture by fostering educational opportunities for scientists and students.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is elected by the general body for a two-year term. The Executive Committee formulates and executes the policies and programs approved by the general body of the Association

Gurjinder Baath


Dr. Gurjinder Baath is a Postdoctoral Researcher in the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences at Oklahoma State University.


Devinder Sandhu


Dr. Devinder Sandhu  is a Research geneticist at the US Salinity Laboratory, Riverside, CA

Sumit Sharma


Dr. Sumit Sharma is an Extension Assistant Professor of Irrigation Management at Oklahoma State University

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees overlooks the performance of the Association and acts as strategic advisors to the executive committee.